Real Live Theater

How old were you when you first attended a live theater performance?

In An Invitation for You, Editor's Note, Who's watching? on March 14, 2009 at 5:22 am

Editors Note

During a discussion today about summer theater workshops for little kids, the question came up: how old were you when you first attended a live theater performance? The answers varied widely of course, and included everything from “[going to see] a simple production of Little Red Riding Hood during a field trip in kindergarten” to, “[going to see] Stephen Sondheim’s Into the Woods at age fifty”.

What is your answer?

Please take a moment to participate in the brief survey below, and if you would like to share your memories of your first live theater experience, please scroll down to the very, very bottom of this article and click on the red ‘Comment’ button to post your comment.

Thank you for your participation!

Cheryl Itamura is the Founder and Editor in Chief of Real Live Theater.

Other articles by Cheryl Itamura include:

  1. At the age of five I was the youngest member of a traditional Japanese dance troupe. Some of the members of the troupe performed in the classical Japanese dance-drama style known as Kabuki. So, watching Kabuki could be considered my first exposure to live theater, but I’m torn. My personal answer is either Kabuki or it is the puppet shows put on in the living room at home with puppets mom made, a stage that grandpa made, and friends and stuffed animals lined up in rows to be the audience members.

  2. My first live theater experience when I was still a toddler and my Mother was in a small amateur theater company in Eureka, Ca. They were performing a 1940’s style murder mystery and I sat on my Papa’s lap enjoying the show. That is until the villain fired his pistol. I wailed and screamed and forced my embarrassed Papa to carry me out of the theater, while I begged to see my Mother (whom I last glimpsed on stage just before the gun was fired).
    Happily, that frightening experience didn’t chill me on live theater. Actually, when I found out that my Mama was well, I begged for more.
    The next performance I recall was when my Mother took me to see Beckett’s “Waiting for Godot,” at Humboldt State University, when I was in about 3rd grade, or so. That was when I learned that you don’t have to understand much–in this case, very little, in fact–to enjoy a play. I’ve loved live theater ever since and say BRAVO to the good and talented folks who act and provide us with such wonderful entertainment.
    Finally, in support of live theater, I say Kibosh to television and its fakery.
    S.A.Crawford, Sonoma County, California, June, 2009

Leave a Reply

